Our true voice within

Have you ever thought of doing something new, but then you were interrupted by a little voice in your head telling you not to do it, or that you are not good enough to do it?

I’m sure you have. We all have it. That is what I am struggling with at this exact moment writing this post.

Since I’ve made the decision to start writing publicly, I am filled with overwhelming emotions. I feel very excited about this new project and at the same time I have a little voice in my head saying that I’m not good enough, I don’t know enough and I’m not interesting enough to start this blog.

So this is exactly what I want to talk about in this post. The fact that we always have these negative, annoying thoughts interfering with our projects, dreams and our true selves.

We are not those thoughts that we are hearing. We are what is above those thoughts. We are the observer of our thoughts. We are the voice that can tell the thoughts, you are wrong and I will show you! We have the power to change that train of negative thinking.

Here are 3 simple steps to help you travel back to your true self thinking.

The first step is to be aware of it, Yes, as simple as that! Just being aware of what is going on in your mind, what kind of thoughts you are having. How are they making your feel? Just feel that feeling.

Step two is to realize that you are not those thoughts. That is not the “real” you thinking those negative thoughts. The “real” you is above those thoughts. You are the person hearing those thoughts.

The final step is to take a conscious decision to switch to the “real” you thinking. This thinking is also known as your “gut” thinking or your intuition. This is your true voice within. This is where you are you! And this is the little voice that we all should be listening to. The one we should be trusting. The one which allows us to be our true selves. To just be.

Go ahead, try it now. Take 2, 5, 10 min and try it. Sit silently in a comfortable position, someplace where you have no distractions and just listen. Do not judge or try to change what you are hearing. Do not analyze it.  Simply listen, just observe. What do you hear? Lots of chatter going on? If your answer is yes, you are completely normal! 🙂  We all have this chatter.

And the key to hearing our true selves better is to try to decrease this chatter as much as we can. We can do this by practicing meditation or yoga, calm walks in the nature, or whatever activity that works for you. Sometimes I just like to sit there and watch the water or even the trees and just be still.

For most of us, with our busy, fast paced lives, we tend to not take the time to listen to what is going on inside of us. We deserve this time. We are worthy of this time.

Since I have become more aware, I have begun to discover myself again. Piece by piece, little by little. I learn to let go of the chatter, the repetitive negative thoughts. I can say that I am more and more at peace with myself and I am beginning to just BE more. To trust and accept myself more. To go ahead and be brave and do the things that I really want to do. The things I love to do!

This is something that takes time and practice. So be kind to yourself and know that it is ok when you fall into unhealthy thinking patterns. And when you do, just be aware of it and accept and then release it. And then get back on track 🙂

For a helpful guide on listening to our true voice within, try this book-“Practicing the Power of Now: Essential Teachings, Meditations, and Exercises From The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. http://www.amazon.com/Practicing-Power-Now-Essential-Meditations/dp/1577311957

Here is a great complementary little prayer to my post.Image

Lots of love,

Brandi xo

About Brandi

I am a fun loving, positive thinker who loves to help others and influence their lives in a good and positive way. I love to travel, meet new people, talk about life. I enjoy lazy Sundays, which I refer to as catdays. I love to be bare foot. One of my favorite things is hanging out near the ocean and gazing at the sparkle as though diamonds in the water. I am a fan of the outdoors, connecting with nature's simplicity. I am interested in fitness and practicing a healthy balanced lifestyle. I newly discovered the practice of yoga and fell for it deeply. I have studied Sociology and Social work. But that's not all. I have a very sensitive heart filled with hopes, dreams, wonder and fears, that makes me doubt what I really want out of my life. I often ponder upon the questions of life and my purpose in it. I am scared of being judged and I am afraid of people not liking or accepting me for who I truly am. I believe in everything happens for a reason and that fallowing your instinct and intuition is the key to unveiling who you really are!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

