You don’t always need to know

I have had many big changes in my life in the past 10 years. Moving to different countries were mainly the major ones. I first moved from a little tiny town in the east coast of Canada to the capital, Ottawa. Then from Ottawa, to Munich, Germany. And last but not least, from Munich to Oslo, Norway. Living in 3 different countries and 4 cities, brought not only change in scenery but change within myself. These 4 major moves also brought upon a lot of questioning. Questions about life.

Questions like: What do I want out of my life? What is my mission? What am I destined to do?  Why am I here? What is my passion? What would be the best employment for me? How do I feel about marriage and children? Where do I want to live, establish myself, where do I want to settle down? To name a few.

Do you sometimes ponder upon these same questions?

I am usually a quite organized person. For the most part, I like to have things set and know a little where I am going. I plan a bit in advance and try to have things under control. But sometimes life doesn’t let you do that. Especially, if like me, you decide to embark on a 1 year traveling around Europe adventure, and find yourself 5 years later still on that same adventure.

What I have come to discover during these moves and especially during my last one to Oslo, is that it is ok not to know the answer to all these questions just yet. It’s ok to be unsure about your destiny. I don’t always need to know. I can trust my destiny, and by doing that, create it. I am ok with just having idea of the direction I want to go.

If we always knew what lied ahead, it would take away the spark of life. We wouldn’t put the effort and hard work into the life that is really worth having.

You don’t need to know what your dream or mission is in life if you don’t have one at the moment. First, maybe you have to take the time to get to know yourself again.  Look at your past and how you were before. What type of experiences you had. What have you learned from them? Have a look at how you got to where you are now. Maybe you knew all along where you were going. Maybe the answer lies in the path you have been on all this time. The things you once thought you wanted or needed may have changed without you really noticing it or maybe they are still the same as you always wanted them to be, but you somehow forgot about them. Maybe you just got lost a bit. Look back, turn around. You are right there, now. You always were. You always are. You can trust that your life is going exactly the way it is supposed to be.

For me, once I realized that I don’t always need to know, and I let go of looking, once I accepted my current situation, and I started being truly grateful for what I have, a shift started to happen. The things I wanted started to develop, they where happening. I had a better sense of where I was going. Things started happening for me because I was not forcing them to happen. Because I had finally created a space for them to happen by just letting them happen and by trusting that in the end I am on the right path.

I believe that sometimes we just have to let life work it’s magic. Just let it happen and trust a little more in ourselves. I believe that we should also trust a little more that all events in our lives are bringing us to where we need to be, good or bad. That in the end, these events bring us to only one place. To the now! To who we are.

To end this post, I would like to share a story with you. A story of my own little experience with the magic in life.

One week ago I ordered “Magical Spell card- by Lucy Cavendish”. They had been suggested to me by a friend, and I decided to give them a go. I received them today. I fallowed the instructions, shuffled the cards, thought of a life issue that I wished to receive guidance on, then divided the pack of cards into 3 packs with my left hand. Put the pack back together again and flipped the top card. Guess what the card was?!

DESTINY.

I had to laugh. Because that is exactly what I was writing in this post witch I had already been working on my last Catday, last Sunday, and a bit yesterday also.

The destiny card basically says that if the universe has chosen this card for me it is because I may be at a crossroad in my life, experiencing a stalemate, feeling that something needs to change or having anxiety about the outcome of a decision. It also adds that if I got this card that I am being asked to remember my life lessons. What comes up over and over again.

And so once a card picks you, it’s time to cast the “spell”. 😉

The spell is supposed to help me clarify where I’m going and reveal how and where I have been in my life holds all the answers I need to understand my life path.

So in finishing this post, I believe trusting destiny means trusting ourselves, knowing that we have the answers we are looking for. I also believe we should all have some form of magic in our lives. It can be a nice way to add awareness to it.

The type of magic with these cards, for me, just means something a person can choose to use to help and guide them in a positive way. To help them be more aware of a current situation. It doesn’t mean that you have to play with these cards, or even believe in magic. Maybe you believe in other things like God or something spiritual that help you see life and situations in a positive way. Whatever works for you.

I choose to believe in magic, the magic that I already have within myself. I choose to trust in destiny, the destiny I create.

Image

I hope you let a little magic find its way to you too!

Lots of love,

Brandi xox

About Brandi

I am a fun loving, positive thinker who loves to help others and influence their lives in a good and positive way. I love to travel, meet new people, talk about life. I enjoy lazy Sundays, which I refer to as catdays. I love to be bare foot. One of my favorite things is hanging out near the ocean and gazing at the sparkle as though diamonds in the water. I am a fan of the outdoors, connecting with nature's simplicity. I am interested in fitness and practicing a healthy balanced lifestyle. I newly discovered the practice of yoga and fell for it deeply. I have studied Sociology and Social work. But that's not all. I have a very sensitive heart filled with hopes, dreams, wonder and fears, that makes me doubt what I really want out of my life. I often ponder upon the questions of life and my purpose in it. I am scared of being judged and I am afraid of people not liking or accepting me for who I truly am. I believe in everything happens for a reason and that fallowing your instinct and intuition is the key to unveiling who you really are!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You don’t always need to know

  1. Nadia says:

    I love reading your blog…i can relate on a lot of things. 😉

    Love you!
    Nadia

  2. Murielle Doucet says:

    I realy love to read your blog……..very interesting. love you! xox Murielle

  3. Tyler Duncan says:

    What an inspirational post Brandi! Just what I needed before a busy day. Sending lots of positive vibes your way! Tyler

Leave a Reply

