Spreading my true Christmas cheer!

May Peace be your gift at Christmas and your blessing all year through!  ~Author Unknown

As I have the Christmas music playing loudly, candles lit, setting the Christmas lights and decorations, I’m also setting root and intention for my Christmas traditions in lined with my values.

So this has brought me to contemplate MY true meaning of Christmas and the holiday season.

What I have come to believe is, the way I prepare for Christmas and the way I spend the holiday season is not only a reflection of myself and my beliefs but it’s also the energy/spirit I am sending out into the world.

Image

I feel that I want to bring a bit more meaningful traditions into my Christmas celebrating. I want to set out positives vibes of peace, joy, love and hope. And I want to spend good quality time with the people I love. What Christmas is really all about.

Having lived in Germany and now in Norway, it has lead me to experience nice European traditions that feel meaningful and in alignment with my Christmas values.

For example my favorite is meeting up at the local Christmas markets to enjoy a nice hot cup of Glühwein (German) or Glögg (Scandinavian). For me this is a great way to spend some quality time with friends.

Image

An other one of my favorites is to prepare my very own advent calendar and advent wreaths. This is a great way to bring out my creative side and it is nice to have homemade decorations with greenery I have found in nature.

This year I have made 3 Christmas wreaths. One to hang out at my entrance, one for my advent candles and one in the spirit of giving and offered it to my landlord. Spreading my Christmas cheer!

Image

The meaning behind the advent wreath

1st CANDLE – (purple) THE PROPHECY CANDLE or CANDLE OF HOPE

2nd CANDLE–(purple) THE BETHLEHEM CANDLE or THE CANDLE OF PREPARATION

3rd CANDLE– (pink) THE SHEPHERD CANDLE or THE CANDLE OF JOY

4th CANDLE– (purple)  THE ANGEL CANDLE or THE CANDLE OF LOVE

5th CANDLE– (white)  “CHRIST CANDLE”

Image

Today, December 1st, has become a new tradition for me. It is now the day that I take out my Xmas decorations out, listen to Xmas music, drink glühwein or glögg, make homemade Xmas wreaths and bake gingerbread cookies. Very cozy day. Wish everyday was like this!

The holidays are how you make them out to be. Remember to be yourself and spread your true holiday cheer.

Image

So what exactly is the meaning of Christmas for me?

It is a feeling of comfort and coziness.

It is being at peace.

It is a time to let go and relax.

It is a time to enjoy, laugh and have fun with the people I love.

It is also enjoying the season of winter. Being outdoors in nature. Activities in the snow. Ski, snowshoes, hikes and fires.

It is enjoying yummy food and spending some time in the kitchen preparing a wonderful meal together with family.

It is random visitors popping in with Xmas greetings.

It is phone calls/Xmas card greetings that says I am thinking of you.

It is a time to truly be with each other.

It is Christmas music. Micheal Bublé and Elvis are some of my favorites.

It is lights and decorations handmade from what I can find in nature.

It is the pure act of giving. Something meaningful to the people you love. As well as a charitable time giving to the less fortunate.

It is a time to reflect on something bigger than myself. (spirituality)

How do you spread your Xmas cheer? What are your Xmas values? Are they in-lined with the way you really feel about the holiday season and what it means to you. Are you being true to yourself in the way that you are celebrating?

My candle is lit on this 1st advent day and now let the countdown to Xmas begin!

Wishing you all happy holiday season and a nice chill Catday!

Image

Lots of love,

Brandi xox

About Brandi

I am a fun loving, positive thinker who loves to help others and influence their lives in a good and positive way. I love to travel, meet new people, talk about life. I enjoy lazy Sundays, which I refer to as catdays. I love to be bare foot. One of my favorite things is hanging out near the ocean and gazing at the sparkle as though diamonds in the water. I am a fan of the outdoors, connecting with nature's simplicity. I am interested in fitness and practicing a healthy balanced lifestyle. I newly discovered the practice of yoga and fell for it deeply. I have studied Sociology and Social work. But that's not all. I have a very sensitive heart filled with hopes, dreams, wonder and fears, that makes me doubt what I really want out of my life. I often ponder upon the questions of life and my purpose in it. I am scared of being judged and I am afraid of people not liking or accepting me for who I truly am. I believe in everything happens for a reason and that fallowing your instinct and intuition is the key to unveiling who you really are!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spreading my true Christmas cheer!

  1. Sue D. says:

    So true Brandi!! That is what we try to do here in our family as well. Focusing on the important simple stuff is what it’s all about. We cherish all our moments together and and I have been sharing my thoughts with my loved ones on how it’s important to make it all about sharing, spending time together, keeping rituals and traditions (and not hesitate to make changes when it gets too complicated.) It does not have to be cookie cutter rituals and traditions every year. If we find it still feels good it’s a keeper , if not then we can adapt and introduce new rituals as you did living in a different part of the world. God Bless you!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year with your Loved Ones!!

    Love
    Sue xx

    • Brandi says:

      Thank you so much for reading me and for you lovely comment. You are so right, the simple stuff is what it’s all about!
      Sending you warm greetings to you and your family and a very Merry Christmas! xox

Leave a Reply

