Happy belated New year 2014! Clear desires = Bright reality

Hi all and welcome back to Catdays!
–>

Image

Happy New Year 2014!!

I’ve been absent from my blog for a little over a month now. But in light of practicing authenticity and being myself, I only write when I feel inspired and when it just comes naturally to me and when I feel like I want to share. So here I am on this Sunday feeling inspired!

Like most of you, I have thought about the New year and what kind of resolutions I wanted to have this year. Having been introduced to author, Danielle Laporte and her book the Desire Map during the holidays my view on resolutions and goals for the new year have completely changed.

Image

Danielle has an interesting concept. Instead of going about our traditional new years resolution list that almost seems like a to do list really, why not go about it a different way?

How about we think about how we want to FEEL in the new year?

Image

She calls it our Core Desired Feelings. Everything we do is driven by the desire to feel a certain way.

This struck something deep inside of me. Yes, finally someone putting words to how I preferred going about things and that resonated with me. The “To do list” and resolutions seemed overwhelming and could put me down if I didn’t get to accomplish the things I had set out to do on January 1st. I had gave that up a long time ago.  I never really was one for new years resolutions anyways, because they are so easily broken especially when I was unsure why I even wanted them in the first place and most of the time I set a resolution cause I thought I SHOULD do this, or that.

But THIS, “how do I want to feel”, this I can do. I wasn’t ready to do it on the 1st of January. I needed time with myself, to sit, reflect and to discover how I really wanted to feel for this New year. So here it is, February and I am setting my intentions as to the way I want to feel for 2014.

Image

Here are mine:

I want to feel Beautiful, Alive, Natural, Inspired, Desired, Peaceful, Balanced, Grateful, Connected, Free, My true Self.

… And the list can go on and on here. However the key is to discover witch ones (3 or 4) are your Core Desired Feelings and refer to them everyday to guide your choices.

You try!

Sit silently 10 to 20 minutes per day and just reflect on the way your truly want to feel. This may take time to find out what exactly are your Core Desired Feeling, however be patient with yourself if they do not rise instantly. Continue sitting quietly with yourself and give it time. Once you uncovered exactly how you want to feel, you can then start making small changes that matter in your daily life.

But what can we do to feel this way? In her book the Desire Map, Danielle gives us the tools to create the life we want in lined with the way we want to feel. Usually in the simplest of ways. I highly recommend reading the Desire Map by Danielle Laporte to help you get down to business on your Core Desired Feelings for 2014. The book is divided into two parts, the theory part and the workbook in part 2. You will have everything you need to guide you in this book.

Image

Doing this by yourself is great, but an other interesting way to go about it could be to join or create a Desire Map Book Club with a group of like minded people. I am part of one here in Oslo, filled with a diverse, inspiring, lovely group of women which I feel blessed to have the chance to get to know and to discuss our Core Desired Feelings together.

So for this Catday I’m all set  and comfy on my couch with my cat, tea, beautiful flowers, and candles and I’m Desire mapping!

Image

Hope the Desire Map finds it’s way to you!

Happy Catday and lots of love,

Brandi xox

About Brandi

I am a fun loving, positive thinker who loves to help others and influence their lives in a good and positive way. I love to travel, meet new people, talk about life. I enjoy lazy Sundays, which I refer to as catdays. I love to be bare foot. One of my favorite things is hanging out near the ocean and gazing at the sparkle as though diamonds in the water. I am a fan of the outdoors, connecting with nature's simplicity. I am interested in fitness and practicing a healthy balanced lifestyle. I newly discovered the practice of yoga and fell for it deeply. I have studied Sociology and Social work. But that's not all. I have a very sensitive heart filled with hopes, dreams, wonder and fears, that makes me doubt what I really want out of my life. I often ponder upon the questions of life and my purpose in it. I am scared of being judged and I am afraid of people not liking or accepting me for who I truly am. I believe in everything happens for a reason and that fallowing your instinct and intuition is the key to unveiling who you really are!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy belated New year 2014! Clear desires = Bright reality

  1. Nadia says:

    I LOVE IT! I Definitely need to read that book 🙂 Merci pour partager cette decouverte! love you xox

Leave a Reply

